2018 – Quiz 14

Welcome to your 2018 - Quiz 14

First Name
Last Name

Which statement is true based on the case play below?

Team A has 3rd and 4 from Team B’s 25 yard line.  A1 drops back and throws a forward pass that is tipped by the defense as he releases the ball.  The ball is caught by lineman A69 at the 22 yard line.  A69 advances for an apparent 1st down.  One of the deep judges throws a flag for A3 blocking downfield before the pass was released by A1.

Which statement is true based on the case play below?

3rd and 4 for Team A from their own 45 yard line.  A75, wearing number 75, takes a position as a blocking back three yards behind the QB, A1.  A1 drops back to pass and is standing on Team A’s 41 yard line.  When he is unable to find a receiver downfield, he throws an untouched screen pass to A75 at Team A’s 40 yard line.  A75 advances for an apparent 1st down.

Which statement is true based on the case play below?

1st and 10 for Team A from their 25 yard line.  A1 drops back to pass but cannot find a receiver and begins to run.  He finds a receiver and passes the ball downfield as he nears the line of scrimmage.  The line judge notes one of his feet was on the ground in the neutral zone when the pass was released.  The pass was complete for an apparent 1st down.  The receiver was downed inbounds.

Which statement is false based on the case play below?

4th down and 10 from Team A’s 25 yard line.  Team A is behind in the score and is out of timeouts.  There is less than one minute left in the game.  A1 drops back to pass but cannot find a receiver.  A1 throws a forward pass from Team A’s 15 yard line into an area unoccupied by an eligible receiver.  The referee flags A1 for intentional grounding.  Team B’s captain does not wait for his options to be explained by the referee and immediately declines the penalty to gain possession of the ball after 4th down.